1939      1940

Champion Second Place Third place (tied) Third place (tied)
Oregon Ohio State Oklahoma Villanova
Howard Hobson Harold Olsen Bruce Drake Al Severance

Active coaches (5+ games)

Rank Coach, Current school Yrs W-L Pct. Latest Final
All Trn 1939 All 4 2 1


No coaches have coached in five tournament games at this point.
Oregon wins the first ever NCAA national championship, giving Howard Hobson the best tournament coaching record at 3-0 record, followed by second place Ohio State's Harold Olsen at 2-1.